The Averill Park Board of Education adopted the 2013-14 tax warrant including the tax rates at its August 13 meeting. The tax levy, which is the total amount the district will collect in taxes, is $27,525,611 – the amount voters approved in May.

Using final assessment figures provided by the nine towns in the district and equalization rates set by the state, the new tax rates are as follows:

Town                        School Tax Rate*
Berlin                        $70.31 (+5.59%)
Brunswick                  $66.77 (-0.46%)
East Greenbush           $18.54 (+7.13%)
Nassau                      $25.76 (+4.16%)
North Greenbush         $69.99 (+7.13%)
Poestenkill                  $67.45 (-1.05%)
Sand Lake                  $18.54 (+7.13%)
Schodack                   $16.53 (+2.30%)
Stephentown              $62.03 (+7.13%)

* Tax rates are per $1,000 of assessed property value.

Tax rates vary for each town based on equalization rates set by the NY Office of Real Property Tax Services (ORPTS). After the towns submit final assessment information to the ORPTS, the state assigns each community an equalization rate to account for these differences in assessment practices. This is an effort to fairly distribute the amount of taxes each town must pay.

It is important to note that the district does not control any part of the assessment or equalization process. The tax levy – or the total amount to be raised by all taxpayers – is the only part of the tax rate calculation that the district controls.

Tax Bills

Tax bills will be mailed by September 1. Collection of taxes will begin September 3.  Taxes paid within the first 30 days are penalty free. After the first 30 days, 2 percent interest will be added to tax bills. District residents can also look up their tax bills online at

Payments may be mailed or made in person to:

Catina Riley
School Tax Collector
Averill Park Central School District
146 Gettle Rd Station #1, Room 158
Averill Park, New York 12018

Please note that if you pay in person, you must bring your bill with you.

STAR Exemption

New legislation requires all homeowners receiving a Basic STAR exemption to register with the NYS Tax Department in order to receive STAR exemptions in 2014 and subsequent years. Homeowners must register by December 31, 2013. Learn more...

Posted August 21, 2013